Ohio Economic Development Association
17 South High Street, Suite 200
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614-221-1900
Fax: 614-221-1989
Email: tracey@assnoffices.com






Press Release

Contact: Tracey Hogan

October 20, 2016





COLUMBUS, OH, OCTOBER 20, 2016:  The Ohio Economic Development Association (OEDA) presented its annual Excellence Awards at its 2016 Annual Summit, held October 19-21 at the Columbus Marriott Northwest. 

The Ohio Economic Development Association’s annual excellence awards program recognizes the achievements of individuals and organizations throughout Ohio in the areas of economic and workforce Development.

Annual Excellence Award Recognition was presented to:

Best Project
The Best Project Award recognizes outstanding and innovative projects in economic and business development that retain or generate jobs and investment. 

  • Winner - Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority - The Dana Project at Overland Industrial Park
  • Runner Up - Athens County Economic Development Council  - Project Candy Mold
  • Runner Up – City of Hamilton - Barclaycard 1500 Employee Customer Support Center

Excellence in Economic Development Marketing

The Economic Development Marketing Award recognizes successful marketing/marketing campaigns. 

  • Winner Small Community - City of Hudson - Velocity Broadband Awareness Campaign
  • Winner Medium Community - Southern Ohio Port Authority Economic Development - www.SOHPA.org
  • Winner Large Community - Columbus 2020 - One of US Campaign
  • Runner Up – City of Hudson Year in Review
  • Runner Up – Dayton Power & Light Company www.ohiocertifiedsites.com
  • Runner Up – Finance Fund Capital Corporation - Healthy Food for Ohio

Excellence in Economic Development Innovation
The Economic Development Innovation Award recognizes unique approaches to any aspect of economic development and recognizes a person or organization that has developed innovative practices and programs.

  • Winner - Port of Greater Cincinnati Development Authority - Urban Industrial Job Site Program
  • Runner Up – Jeremy Clay - Lawrence Economic Development Corporation

Excellence in Workforce Development Innovation
The Workforce Development Innovation Award recognizes unique approaches to any aspect of workforce development and recognizes a person and/or organization that has developed innovative practices and programs. The strategy (ies) should provide direction, guidance, and motivation to Ohio’s workforce and business community. 

  • Winner - Sandusky County Economic Development Corp. - THINK Manufacturing
  • Runner Up - Lake County Combined Workforce Development Collaborative Initiatives
  • Runner Up - Made in Medina County

Excellence in Volunteerism
This award recognizes exceptional volunteer individuals who have assisted in successful economic development efforts in Ohio.

  • Winner - Randall Partika - Castlo Community Improvement Corporation
  •  Runner Up - Keith Boales, Ashland County
  •  Runner Up - Kelly Cowan, City of Middletown

Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year award recognizes an individual who has been an Economic Development Professional within Ohio for two years or less. The purpose of the award is to identify someone who has "hit the ground running" and made extraordinary contributions to local or State workforce and economic development in his/her career.

  •  Winner - Timothy Cahill, Lake County Ohio Port and Economic Development Authority
  •  Runner Up - Matt Abbott, Muskingum County Port Authority
  •  Runner Up - Mitch Heaton, Dayton Development Coalition

The Ohio Economic Development Association’s mission is:  Working together to advance Ohio’s economy by Advocating, Training, Networking, and Workforce Development.  The OEDA supports efforts by state, regional and local governments and other organizations to strengthen the economic climate in Ohio, foster employment growth and expand economic opportunities for Ohio’s citizens.  For more information about OEDA, please visit www.ohioeda.com.  



17 South High Street, Suite 200, Columbus, OH 43215 | Phone 800.632.7763 | Fax 614.221.1989 | oeda@assnoffices.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software